Thoughts on a wheelchair

On this wheelchair, I sit
And look upon the grass
From my window pane
While knitting words
Into poetries.

I’m eighty-seven
Ancient and fragile
With ebbs over my skin
And folds on my body.
I wear roses
And a sunflower or two.

Only yesterday,
I was fifty-three
Combing my hair into a bun
With a novel in one hand
And a glass of wine in another.

And the day before yesterday,
I was forty-one
And was draping a blue saree
Around my body
For my daughter’s wedding.

And the day before that,
I was twenty-six
Getting engaged to my love
And going places
And taking pictures.

And the day prior to that,
I was fifteen
Writing poems in black diaries
Attaching lilies to my hair
And on vinyl records, I was dancing.

But tomorrow,
I will be ninety-four
Welcoming people to my funeral
And lay on my death bed
And will enter my body
Into this Earth
Without much ado.

-preksha

38 thoughts on “Thoughts on a wheelchair

      1. Awwww 😘😘🌌You were talking to Miraaa , right now,but Irina also loved your poem..We are happy to know We could help You.. Many Hugs…And love…and Hugs…and loveeeee!πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸŒžπŸŒžπŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ’™β˜€
        .

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Very well written, Preksha. Love how you describe this elderly lady’s life till death comes at ninety-four. Your images are beautifully crafted, powerful, poignant, and deeply philosophical, reflecting on our fleeting existence on Earth. Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Please do when you find a bit of time and comment on it. As I said, Mario is now especially interested in how we women perceive his story. I so love the comments you have written to Mario about his work. You are insightful, profound and very articulate. One of your comments was like one of your poems, sheer prose-poetry. Mario and I loved it! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, Marta. Actually I’ve been quite busy for the admissions and registrations for the school work.

        I will for sure comment my thoughts on Mario’s blog. I personally love the tale ‘Pickles and Tarts’, by him, so far. 🌼

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment